The Story of My Life: How I Learnt My Lessons The Hard Way!

TRUST IN THE LORDCommit thy way unto the LORD; trust also in him; and he shall bring it to pass. Psalms 37:5 KJV

They that trust in the LORD shall be as mount Zion, which cannot be removed, but abideth for ever. Psalms 125:1 KJV

I have always been hard-working since infancy. My parents have for all time encouraged diligence and excellence. However, growing up, my Dad was not the “liberal type” and was quite a perfectionist. He always wanted to see nothing but the very best of grades on the Terminal Report Sheets of his kids. His drive for excellence constantly motivated us to work ourselves up, striving to always be among the best in school.

I went through my basic education and entered high school to pursue the course of my choice with one of the best grades in my school. After three years in high school, I passed out well; the grades were good but not excellent.

Having gone through one semester of university education the next year, I had my worst nightmare. My grades were just above average. I had the shock of my life when I saw my first semester exam report sheet. At that moment, I knew I had to redeem myself.

What was I going to do to change my grades?

After serious thought about this problem, I decided to cut down on social engagements at school and focus on only academics. My colleagues said I was anti-social, but I wasn’t bothered at all. The results of the next semester were far better, but I felt much improvement was still needed to meet Dad’s standard. It was around that time I came across an internet publication that spoke about memory and concentration benefits of taking coffee. Being heartily convinced by the internet post, I believed that was what I needed to make a giant leap.

Day after day, I took pure coffee (100%) in the mornings and evenings. It was invigorating. Really! I felt high those mornings and evenings. It helped to boost my memory and general brain function. It also prevented me from feeling exhaustion after several hours of study. I could sit for five to eight hours just studying, and reading all kinds of stuff – the essentials and other frivolities. This continued for the next two semesters. I was less involved with social activities, entertainment, and church stuff. All my passion was set on “redeeming myself”. I took the pure coffee daily and worked myself through those semesters.

The two semesters of that year were great, as my grades shot up exceedingly. A look at the semesters’ exam report sheets made me exceedingly glad. I knew everything was well with my “redemption plan”, and that I would finally make up for the “good but not excellent” grades of my secondary education.

However, after one and a half years of drinking pure coffee and stressing myself with my “redemption plan”, my body began to break down. The repercussions of excessive stress and coffee consumption were unimaginable; they were just calamitous. When nature began to kick back at me, I hardly slept; and when I fell asleep, I barely entered deep sleep. I couldn’t sleep for long. Long use of pure coffee had ruined my sleep.

It was around this time I developed fibromyalgia. Excessive drinking of coffee had made me lose sufficient calcium from my breast and back bones. I had excruciating pain at my back and chest when I sat for about thirty minutes. I could no longer sit for long. Getting up from bed every morning was not a pleasant experience, as I felt the unbearable pain of “morning stiffness”. Over that period of time, I also developed serious gastric ulcers as a result of excessive acid production evoked by the unlimited consumption of coffee.

The worst of all, I had to deal with, was a painful headache and unceasing burning sensation I felt in my head any time I concentrated on a reading material for more than thirty to forty-five minutes. Now I couldn’t study for long and my health was fast deteriorating. As reserved as I am, I couldn’t share my problems with anyone. I always kept a brave face anytime I went out. I would smile and laugh with my friends; but deep within, I was in pain and seriously hurting. And that plunged me into serious depression which lasted for almost a year and a half. Only few knew about my depression but none knew the cause of it.

At last, in my final year (Level 400) at the University, I decided to let go of my stressful life, all in the name of “redemption”.

Why won’t I?

I had no option. My health was in a very bad shape. I had to wear neck support to sit and study for only few minutes, not even hours, and was losing my mind as well with the unbearable burning sensation I felt. So, I decided to let go of all and just trust God to show me great MERCY AND GOODNESS.

Years of stress and excessive intake of coffee had provided me with very excellent grades but had wrecked my health. I stopped taking coffee and replaced my thirst for it with milk and chocolate beverage, and went on water therapy as well. The journey to my recovery wasn’t easy. I had gotten addicted to coffee and so I suffered some withdrawal syndrome. Honestly, that partly contributed to the depression I experienced. I also had an Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD) as one of the problems I had to face with the withdrawal. I couldn’t focus for long.

But I looked to God to heal and to save me from the mess I had created for myself. At that time, my grades did not matter any longer; I was now concerned with getting well. I left my grades to God to care for that, as I did what I could do “un-stressfully” with my academics. I made time for church and social activities, and relaxed in the final year of my undergraduate education.

Finally, God showed me great favour. In all my weakness and pain, I passed out in 2007 with the best class I had longed for – to meet “Dad’s standard.” However, my health was not all through. I had to fully recover over the next two years following my undergraduate education; thanks to the healing grace of the Almighty God.

I learnt the dreadful effects of stress, and “doing it all by oneself” the very hard way! And now, I am very mindful of that. Be diligent but don’t stress yourself. Do what you can and just leave the rest to God. “The blessing of the LORD, it maketh rich, and he addeth no sorrow with it.” (Proverbs 10:22 KJV). I’ve learnt He does best when He is wholly trusted. Always remember that the Almighty God, Himself, rested on the seventh day after His Six-day Creation, and give yourself some rest!

RELATED:

Why Elijah Fled From Jezebel: One Reason Many People Ignore

He called fire from Heaven to burn up two captains of fifties with their fifties when he once felt threatened (2 Kings 1:9-14). This is what this Elijah could do when in his element. So, what could have hit him that hard to make him flee?

Read an insightful revelation at: https://etmed.wordpress.com/2015/07/02/why-elijah-fled/

About Seth T. Boateng

Mr. Seth T. Boateng is a dynamic writer, Bible teacher, medical research scientist, lecturer and clinical microbiologist. The central theme of his message is the holistic empowerment of God's children to live fulfilling lives.
This entry was posted in Health & Fitness, Inspirational and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Story of My Life: How I Learnt My Lessons The Hard Way!

  1. Pingback: Why Elijah Fled From Jezebel: One Reason Many People Ignore | GLET Media (Ghana)

Leave a Reply

